I Am Your Bride

I am your bride. I am the one you would give anything to be with – including your life. I am the one you picked up from the dirt and cleansed. I am your bride. I am the one you waited patiently for, even when I didn’t notice you. You gave me your best gifts. I failed to accept them. You held out your arms to me. I didn’t run in to them. You got down on one knee, held out your ring to me. My eyes were elsewhere. You waited patiently for me, even though it pained you. I am your bride. 

You memorize my smile, my laugh. You tuned your ears to my voice. You know just what I like.
I am your bride. You soothe me when I’m wary; you nurse me when I’m pained. You give and give and give to me. I am your bride; the apple of your eye. You hold my words dear. You want all my love. You love when I praise you; enjoy when I brag about you. Jesus, I am your bride. You trust me with your thoughts, you trust my heart with your dreams. I’m never lonely with you. I am your bride.
You teach me to be like you; so that when you look at me you see yourself. I am desirable to you; Because you have covered me. I am your bride. You protect me jealously. You guard me fiercely – no one can break your hedge about me. It’s too secure. I am your bride.
You cherish intimate moments with me. You enjoy being with me. You know where I am weak, yet you don’t love me any less. You know where I need to be built up, so I’m always your construction ground. I am your bride. You make me laugh. You give me a new song. You inspire me. You strengthen me. I am your bride. You clothe me perfectly. I am a sight to see. They all stop and stare. I am your bride.
 
My name is written on your heart. You give me a name that no one else knows. I am your bride. You know all my days; you number the hairs on my head. I am your bride. You saved me from the pit. You saw beauty in me when I only saw ashes. You saw strength when I only saw weakness. I am your bride. Marrying you was a major upgrade. My name now carries the highest premium – Christ. I am your bride.
I am your bride…
I am your bride…
I am your bride
Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment